The Birthday-Holiday Haul

Well, now that the holiday season is officially behind us (and gift return season is in full swing), it’s time to show off some of my presents. Time for a Colin’s Collection post!

I haven’t done one of these in a while — not since around the middle of June, actually. And not because I haven’t had my eye on any new music. It’s mainly because my birthday is within three months of Christmas, so I figured I’d hold off on this until after the holidays. (For purposes of this post, or at least based on when it was posted, “holidays” includes New Year’s and birthdays for my mom and my sister.) The result is what could be one of the longest Colin’s Collection lists ever, as I ended up getting eight new albums over the last couple months. The list is coming up after the jump!

Bon Iver: Bon Iver, Bon Iver

 

Mastodon: The Hunter

 

Thrice: Major/Minor

 

Wintersleep: Welcome To The Night Sky

 

The Strokes: First Impressions Of Earth

 

TV On The Radio: Return To Cookie Mountain

 

Minus The Bear: This Is What I Know About Being Gigantic

 

Battles: Gloss Drop

Well, that just about wraps up this edition of Colin’s Collection. I think 2011 turned out to be a pretty good year for music. Here’s hoping 2012 will be even better!

Leave a Reply

