Hey Look, Another Collection Update

Hey everyone, I’m back on the blogosphere with another eagerly-anticipated (by very few people, if any) Colin’s Collection update. I’ve been pretty busy with job hunting lately, going to career fairs, browsing Craigslist, checking temp agency websites, and other wonderful stuff. Okay, I’m lying about that last bit — job hunting is pretty much the most frustrating and depressing thing in the world.

The good news is that so far this has been a pretty good year for music. I just keep on adding stuff to my collection, and with new releases from the likes of My Morning Jacket (Circuital comes out on 5/31) and the Arctic Monkeys (the oddly titled Suck It And See arrives in June) on the horizon, I know I’m still not done.

My latest musical acquisitions are coming up after the jump.

Foo Fighters: Wasting Light

  • Wasting Light is quite possibly the loudest Foo Fighters album yet. You can chalk that up to the band sporting a nifty tri-guitar attack now that Pat Smear is back in the fold. He’s appeared on tour with the Foos over the years, but this is the first album where he’s been an official Fighter since The Colour And The Shape.
  • There’s lots of ’90s nostalgia floating around on this album, really. It’s a throwback to the band’s late-’90s sound except “White Limo,” which sounds more like the heavier tracks from their debut. The aforementioned Mr. Smear (who also appeared on Nirvana’s In Utero) is on board, Butch Vig is the producer (he was behind the boards for Nirvana’s Nevermind), and Krist Novoselic cameos on bass and accordion on “I Should Have Known,” making it hard not to think of a certain someone whose name always pops up in every article about the Foos and used to work with some of these guys. Seventeen years later, Kurt is still sorely missed.
  • The old-school rock-n’-roll feel of this album doesn’t stop there either. It was recorded on analog tape in Dave Grohl’s garage, and (as if we needed proof of this) you can find a piece of the actual tape they used in every copy of Wasting Light. Oh, and Bob Mould from Hüsker Dü guest stars in “Dear Rosemary.” And they even dressed like the Beatles when they played the album in full on Letterman.

“Bridge Burning” (live)

TV On The Radio: Nine Types Of Light

  • TV On The Radio’s follow-up to Dear Science sounds like a pretty natural follow-up to that album, only with more emotionally driven lyrical content. No songs about protesting the war or calling George W. Bush a “death professor” here. Of course, that also means no songs about werewolves. There’s a warmth here that I haven’t really heard from these guys before.
  • I will one day start a band called Death Professor and it will be awesome.
  • Nine Types Of Light comes complete with an hour-long film filled with music video treatments for the album’s 10 songs. You can check it out here.
  • On a much unhappier note, TV On The Radio bassist Gerard Smith passed away this week after a month-long battle with lung cancer at the age of 34. My condolences to his family, friends, and bandmates. Yesterday I was reading an interview with Tunde Adebimpe in Spin and he mentioned how tight-knit the guys in that band are. And all I could think about while reading that was how they’d just lost Gerard Smith.

“Caffeinated Consciousness”

Bon Iver: For Emma, Forever Ago

  • So in my last Picks Of The Week post I wrote about how I don’t usually listen to stuff like Bon Iver or the Tallest Man On Earth. And yet here’s For Emma, Forever Ago joining my collection just in time to get me prepared for Bon Iver’s self-titled follow-up (well, sort of — it’s actually called Bon Iver, Bon Iver), which comes out in June. Funny how things work out.
  • The instrumentation is pretty sparse here — it’s mostly Justin Vernon and his guitar with often minimal percussion. But the songs are also emotionally vulnerable enough to capture your attention and hold it. Maybe I should give a chance to other stuff like this…


Well, that about wraps up this edition of Colin’s Collection. I leave you now with not one, but TWO new songs from Radiohead that you can get for free from their website if you bought the King Of Limbs download, which you can now also upgrade to a “newspaper album” purchase if you so choose. Here are “Supercollider” and “The Butcher.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s