Colin’s Collection: The Class of 2011 (So Far)

Jeez, how long has it been since the last Colin’s Collection post on this blog? Two weeks? Man, that’s like an eternity in the blogosphere. Can you imagine what would happen if I went a whole year without giving you your sorely-needed updates on what I’ve been listening to? Buildings would collapse! People would be driven to madness! The space-time continuum would implode and the universe as we know it would come to an end!

And according to my WordPress dashboard, people would still keep coming here in search of one freaking picture that isn’t even there anymore because apparently it violated ImageShack guidelines or whatever.

But anyway, since I’m taking a little longer to churn out the next Blast From The Past entry than I would like (not to mention the next Top 5, among other features), here’s a little something to occupy your blog-reading time until I finally finish it… after the jump, naturally.

Thrice, The Artist In The Ambulance

  • This album actually features the first song I’d ever heard from these guys. That would be “All That’s Left,” and I heard it on the Madden NFL 2004 soundtrack long before I ever picked up a Thrice album in a store. Seven years later – or at least seven Madden NFL games later – I finally got around to checking out The Artist In The Ambulance.
  • With the addition of this album to my collection, that leaves Identity Crisis and The Illusion Of Safety as the only Thrice albums I don’t have. So I guess my relationship with their discography is like picking up a book, reading from the middle all the way through to the end, and then reading the first half backwards. Reading a book that way would never make sense; one of the nice things about music is that you don’t have to worry about following an artist’s story chronologically to enjoy it.

“All That’s Left”

Surfer Blood, Astro Coast

  • One of 2010’s most hyped new bands, Surfer Blood is a throwback to ‘90s indie rock with more fuzz and surf-rock reverb effects added to their sound. Astro Coast is their debut album, and OH MY GOD IT’S A SHARK!

  • Um… has there ever been a better match between a band’s name and their album cover? I can’t think of any. Then again, I’m trying to think about anything but all I can hear in my head is ba-dum… ba-dum-bum… ba-dum ba-dum…
  • Seriously, sharks scare the crap out of me. And I’ve never even been out far enough in the ocean for them to even be a threat. Surfer Blood, thankfully, does not scare me. I haven’t had a chance to listen to the album in full yet, but the songs I’ve heard are pretty fun.

“Floating Vibes”

Minus The Bear, They Make Beer Commercials Like This

  • Now that I’ve added Omni to my collection, which I did when it came out back in May, I have a copy of every full-length Minus The Bear album. What I didn’t have, and still don’t have, is all of their EPs.
  • MTB’s other EPs are called This Is What I Know About Being Gigantic and Bands Like It When You Yell “Yar!” At Them. Of the two, I’m only really interested in the former – three of the five songs on the latter can also be found on Highly Refined Pirates.
  • They Make Beer Commercials Like This was released about a year before their sophomore effort Menos El Oso. They were still firmly entrenched in their “goofy-ass titles for stuff” phase, calling their songs things like “Hey! Is That A Ninja Up There?” and “I’m Totally Not Down With Rob’s Alien.” Beer Commercials was later re-released with a bonus track called “Houston, We Have Uh-Oh,” which I’m told were astronaut Jim Lovell’s words upon realizing that Apollo 13 was leaking oxygen.

“Fine + 2 Pts.” (live)

Solar Powered Sun Destroyer, Sender//Receiver

  • About two years ago I was working as a sound engineer on Third Rail Radio at WMUC and saw these guys play a set of space-rock tunes (with a name like Solar Powered Sun Destroyer, would you expect anything different?) interspersed with short clips from the movie Sunshine, which was made by the director of Slumdog Millionaire and starred the bad guy from Batman Begins. (No, not Liam Neeson, the other bad guy from Batman Begins.) They were awesome. So, yeah… I’ve been looking forward to this one for a while.
  • You want to know what these guys sound like? Well, do you like Vheissu-era Thrice? How about Planet Of Ice by Minus The Bear? Or maybe anything by Cave In from Jupiter or the Tides Of Tomorrow EP? If you answered yes to any of those questions, you should probably give these guys a try.
  • You can find this album, along with all of their other releases, at their Bandcamp page. Sender//Receiver was released there last week with the In Rainbows “pay-what-you-want” model.

“Ghost Light”

Well, that about covers all the latest additions to the ol’ record collection. And I’m sure there’ll be plenty of other stuff I’ll be adding in 2011, because I believe that music is one of the rare good things you can never have too much of.

One response

  1. What i do not understood is actually how you are not really much more well-liked than you may be now. You’re so intelligent. You realize thus significantly relating to this subject, made me personally consider it from a lot of varied angles. Its like women and men aren’t fascinated unless it’s one thing to do with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs great. Always maintain it up!

    January 22, 2011 at 7:32 am

Leave a Reply

