I’ve Run Out Of Economy Jokes

…But I still have money with which I add music to my ever-expanding collection!

Yesterday I read an Associated Press article that said the economic recession may finally be over. I would have linked to it here and made a joke about how I’ve saved the economy by buying music, allowing me to bask in a wonderful I-told-you-so moment, but now I can’t find the article anywhere. Figures.

As always, here’s a list of music I’ve recently acquired. And some other stuff I look forward to acquiring as well. The list, along with additional commentary and whatnot, after the jump.

Arctic Monkeys, Favourite Worst Nightmare

  • How did I not get into this band sooner? I’ve been listening to them quite a bit lately, having added this album and their debut Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not to my collection. A UK band that got hyped through the roof by the British press that actually lives up to the hype?!? Who’d have thunk it? Their new album Humbug came out on August 25, but given the pattern I’ve established with the first two Monkeys albums, I won’t be picking that one up for another two or three years. They’ll probably be up to their fifth or sixth album by then.

Band Of Horses, Cease To Begin

  • Another one of those bands that took me longer to get into than just about everyone else. Why? I really don’t know. I’m slow like that, I guess. I mean, I still think “It’s over nine THOUSAAAAAAAND!” is hilariously funny. Yeah, I know, I know. Old meme is old.
  • This album has a song on it called “Detlef Schrempf,” in honor of the mid-’90s basketball player for the Seattle SuperSonics. He was one of those guys in NBA Live ’95 whose name always amused me because I was nine years old and easily amused by foreign names and odd nicknames because I was a dumb little kid. Other favorites included Geert Hammink, Fat Lever, and Tree Rollins.

U2, Pop

  • No, that’s not a typo. Yes, as of last week, I own a copy of what is perhaps U2’s least popular album ever. Even U2 themselves have all but abandoned this album. They haven’t even come remotely close to doing anything that sounds like it since. And good luck hearing anything from this album when you see them live. Come on, guys, Pop wasn’t THAT bad. Some of its songs are actually pretty cool.
  • That said, be on the lookout for a, um, closer look at one of the songs from this album in the near future.
  • Oh, and I’m seeing them on September 29 at FedEx Field. Oddly enough, the reason I’d wanted tickets to this show in the first place was because I wanted to see Muse. I didn’t even know they were opening for U2 until I went to order the tickets! God, I’m such a dumbass.

RX Bandits, …And The Battle Begun

  • The ska-prog-rockers released their sixth album, Mandala, over the summer and that’s how I first heard of this band. I have looked all over for a copy of Mandala and haven’t found it anywhere. Fortunately, there are still several other albums that I can check out in the meantime.
  • These guys have drawn lots of comparisons to bands like Muse and the Mars Volta, so if that’s your thing, then here you go. They’re worth listening to for the guitar work alone — it’s pretty awesome.

Titus Andronicus, The Airing Of Grievances

  • Finally! I’ve been looking for this freaking album since the middle of April! They came to WMUC on April 19 and put on a pretty killer show, which convinced me to check this album out.
  • Keep your ears open during tomorrow’s show (4-6 p.m. on WMUC2), because I’ll be playing something from this album. And also that RX Bandits album up there.
  • The band is named after Shakespeare’s bloodiest play (sample novelty death: two of the villains being fed to their also-villainous mother in a pie — no, I’m not making this up, that’s some Scott Tenorman shit right there) and the album title comes from the Festivus episode of Seinfeld.

We Are Scientists, With Love And Squalor

  • Another album I’d been after for a while, this is perhaps best known for its single “Nobody Move, Nobody Get Hurt.” Thanks to its chorus, I thought the song was called “My Body Is Your Body.” This is because, as stated before, I am a complete dumbass.
  • I saw these guys when they opened for Kings Of Leon (who are finally getting some love from their home country, which means music journalists will need a new angle to write about when covering the Followill family band) last November, along with the Whigs. Both bands are now Listen Up! regulars.

Okay, so that covers the new additions to my collection. Now for a few things that (I hope) will be worth keeping your eyes open for…

  • The new Thrice album Beggars will be released on 9/15 with a handful of bonus tracks.
  • Minus The Bear have finished recording the follow-up to their 2007 album Planet Of Ice. They will release a 7″ single and digital download called “Into The Mirror” on 10/27 and release the new album some time in early 2010. They’ve also announced tour dates for this fall, including a 11/14 show that will literally be ten minutes down the road from where I live — in West Chester, Pennsylvania. How cool is that?
  • The new Fall Of Troy album In The Unlikely Event is coming out on 10/6. The first track, “Panic Attack,” is now available for download.
  • Radiohead front man Thom Yorke will release a 12″ single featuring two songs, “Feeling Pulled Apart By Horses” and “The Hollow Earth,” on 9/21, continuing the parade of new Radioheadrelated material. The former is the original version of “Reckoner” — they wrote a coda for this song that later became the In Rainbows version of “Reckoner,” while this one’s been on the shelf since 2001 — and the latter is a song from the sessions for Thom’s solo album The Eraser that needed more time in the studio.

All right, that about covers everything. Be sure to tune in tomorrow from 4-6 p.m. on WMUC2 for my first show of the semester! And keep watching this space.

Leave a Reply

