April 17, 2009: Show #18

That’s right, it’s double-post day here at the ol’ Listen Up! blog. I’m in a very bloggy mood today, which I hope passes soon because if I don’t stop adding posts tonight I’ll be out of things to post during the summer. (Not really sure where that huge rant about the Jonas Brothers came from, but hey… if it makes someone laugh, it’s all worthwhile.)

Anyway, here’s the playlist from my April 17, 2009 show on WMUC2.

1. Queens Of The Stone Age, “Monsters In The Parasol” (Rated R)

2. Blur, “Bugman” (13)

3. The Fall Of Troy, “Cut Down All The Trees And Name The Streets After Them” (Manipulator)

4. Kings Of Leon, “Slow Night, So Long” (Aha Shake Heartbreak)

5. Titus Andronicus, “Arms Against Atrophy” (The Airing Of Grievances)*

6. Radiohead, “Blow Out” (Pablo Honey)

7. The Whigs, “I Never Want To Go Home” (Mission Control)

8. Muse, “Bliss” (Origin Of Symmetry)

9. Cymbals Eat Guitars, “Wind Phoenix” (Why There Are Mountains)*

10. Interpol, “Leif Erikson” (Turn On The Bright Lights)

11. Have A Nice Life, “Bloodhail” (Deathconsciousness)

12. The Drones, “The Minotaur” (Havilah)

13. Pavement, “Stereo” (Brighten The Corners)

14. The Sword, “Maiden, Mother, & Crone” (Gods Of The Earth)

15. Others May Fall, “Napoleon”

16. Mastodon, “Oblivion” (Crack The Skye)

17. Deerhunter, “Never Stops” (Microcastle)

18. The National, “Green Gloves” (Boxer)

19. My Morning Jacket, “El Caporal” (Dark Was The Night compilation)

20. Radiohead, “Go To Sleep (Little Man Being Erased)” (Hail To The Thief)

21. Minus The Bear, “Guns And Ammo” (Acoustics EP)

22. Mountain, “Mississippi Queen” (Climbing)

23. Guns N’ Roses, “Nightrain” (Appetite For Destruction)

24. Queens Of The Stone Age, “Little Sister” (Lullabies To Paralyze)

25. The Rolling Stones, “Honky Tonk Women” (Forty Licks)

26. Blue Oyster Cult, “(Don’t Fear) The Reaper” (Agents Of Fortune)

27. Vampire Weekend, “Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa” (Vampire Weekend) — you won’t hear this in the show MP3 because I had to go long to fill dead air

Kind of strange how I seem to have made Vampire Weekend my go-to band for filling dead air.

And as always, join my Facebook group if you have a Facebook account and keep watching this space. Now that the semester’s over, I won’t be doing any more shows until the fall. I’ll be sure to update you all on any changes to my schedule. Since I don’t have any classes scheduled for Fridays next semester, it may not even have to change at all. I can’t say I’d mind having an FM gig, though…

*denotes albums I’ve been looking for but haven’t found anywhere

Leave a Reply

