Capitalism at its finest

“Capitalism has made it this way — old-fashioned fascism will TAKE IT AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!”

— Marilyn Manson, “The Beautiful People”

I’m going to be pretty busy this week (two papers due Tuesday, a final exam paper due Friday, another final exam paper due Monday) so I won’t be able to update this blog as much as I would like. And you know what that means — it’s time for another filler post about music I’ve recently added to my collection. Like I said the last time I wrote a post like this, buying music will save the economy.

Trust me on this. I took a course in microeconomics back in my freshman year here at the University of Maryland and got a B. I know what I’m talking about. I’m totally qualified to discuss resolutions to the current economic crisis. If the 24-hour news networks ever stop panicking about swine flu and get back to panicking about the economy, I’m available for interviews. Now if I could just find my lecture notes from that class, I’d really be in business!

Hey, look at that! I made a pun! EVERYONE LAUGH AT MY CLEVER PUN! Otherwise I will be more depressed than I was earlier today when I found out that Megan Fox has no interest in guys under the age of 30. (She’s the girl from Michael Bay’s kind of crappy Transformers movie who made out with Shia “I Should Legally Change My Name To Oedipus” LaBeouf on top of that Camaro.)

Okay, before somebody forces me to change the name of this website to Perez-Hilton’s-Less-Obnoxious-Younger-Brother.com, here’s the list of my latest musical acquisitions.

Pavement: Brighten The Corners: Nicene Creedence Ed.

Thom Yorke: The Eraser

Nirvana: Bleach

Early Man: Closing In

Slayer: South Of Heaven

The National: Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers

And speaking of the National, how’s this for a depressing thought? They’ll be playing not one, not two, but THREE consecutive shows at the 9:30 Club in Washington, DC later this month. Naturally, all three shows will be taking place after I go home for the summer. This makes me a saaaaaaaaaaaaaad panda.

Also, Bloc Party’s B-sides from the Weekend In The City sessions are really really good. Those of you who wanted the follow-up to Silent Alarm to sound more like Silent Alarm would do well to run a Google search for Another Weekend In The City. Then do another Google search, this time for “Cavaliers And Roundheads” — it’s a B-side from one of the “Hunting For Witches” singles that for whatever reason isn’t included with the other songs, and it’s pretty cool.

One may be the loneliest number, and thirteen may be so unlucky that some people are afraid of it, but three… watch out for that one, man. It’ll fuck you up.

And while I’m still on the subject, here’s the running order I find works best for these songs:

  1. England
  2. Cain Said To Abel
  3. The Once And Future King
  4. Secret
  5. Vision Of Heaven
  6. Rhododendrons
  7. Version 2.0
  8. Atonement
  9. We Were Lovers
  10. Cavaliers And Roundheads
  11. Selfish Son
  12. Emma Kate’s Accident

Finally, some closing shout-outs.

First, to the guy from Others May Fall who left a comment here asking me to play something from their new EP, sorry I haven’t gotten back to you. I played one of your songs on my show a couple weeks ago and it was pretty good.

Second, a few weeks ago I helped engineer one of the best Third Rail shows I’ve seen since I’ve been with WMUC. Edie Sedgwick and Title Tracks both put on consistently entertaining sets, but my favorite act of the night was Solar Powered Sun Destroyer. They’re like Minus The Bear mixed with Thrice mixed with that movie Sunshine (the sci-fi movie with Scarecrow from Batman Begins and the director of Slumdog Millionaire). We had Titus Andronicus stop by for a live performance that day as well. Check all of them out. Actually, just check out everyone I’ve mentioned in this post.

Oh, and one last thing. For everyone who keeps stumbling across my blog in pursuit of pictures of a certain part of the female body

you’ve just

been thrown

a frickin’ bone.

You’re welcome.

Besides, I’d like for at least one of my posts to rival ENJOY THE GENIUS 7’s hit count.

Leave a Reply

